Deep Purple – Fireball (2018 Limited Edition on 180g Purple Vinyl)

Deep Purple – Fireball (2018 Limited Edition on 180g Purple Vinyl)

Regular price
$39.00 USD
Sale price
$39.00 USD
Regular price
$52.00 USD
Sold out
Unit price
Free UK shipping on orders over £30. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Get your free copy of Rock Review Magazine here

Released in 1971, Fireball is the fifth album by Deep Purple, and the second with the Mark II line-up. It was recorded at various times between September 1970 and June 1971. It became the first of the band’s three UK No. 1 albums.

The album was the first one Deep Purple worked on after establishing their career with In Rock, which had been a critical and commercial success, staying on the charts for over a year. Guitarist Ritchie Blackmore felt he had been vindicated by the decision to concentrate on hard rock, and believed the group’s success was largely because of him. This led to increasing conflict with singer Ian Gillan and the relationship between the two began to become strained.

Material for the album was rehearsed in Welcombe Manor, Devonshire in December 1970. The band cancelled several live performances in order to put together material that could serve as a follow-up to In Rock. Strange Kind of Woman was written during these sessions, and the track, along with The Mule were recorded in January 1971. Another song, Freedom was written at Welcombe and recorded during these sessions, but didn’t make the final track listing. Other material was recorded in-between gigs through to March. Strange Kind of Woman was added to the group’s live set at the end of January, quickly developing into a showpiece for Gillan to sing back Blackmore’s guitar riffs in a call and response manner. The last song to be recorded was Demon’s Eye in June.

Fireball reached the No. 1 position on the UK albums chart, while also hitting No. 1 in several other European countries like Germany, Austria or Sweden. In North America, it outperformed its predecessor, In Rock, reaching No. 32 in the US and No. 24 in Canada.


Track Listing

Side One

  1. Fireball
  2. No No No
  3. Demon's Eye
  4. Anyone's Daughter

Side Two

  1. The Mule
  2. Fools
  3. No One Came


Format: Vinyl / 12" Album / Colour

Label: Harvest

Catalogue No: 0190295565091

No of Discs: 1

Release Date: 2018


    .section-header h2 { text-transform: capitalize; }